Comparison
Keporia vs Loopy Loyalty vs Square Loyalty: which one, honestly.
Last reviewed 22 September 2026. Prices checked on the vendors' own pages that day; tell us if one has moved: abid@keporia.ca.
If you run an independent café, restaurant, bakery or salon in Canada and you have decided a paper punch card is not good enough, you will end up looking at three kinds of product: a loyalty add-on from the point-of-sale you already use, a self-serve wallet-card platform, or a service that builds and runs the card for you. Square Loyalty, Loopy Loyalty and Keporia are one of each. This page puts their real prices and real trade-offs side by side. We are Keporia; where that colours the judgement, it says so.
The short version
If your business already runs on Square's point of sale and someone on your team has the time to design the program and write the offers, Square Loyalty is the cheapest way to get a wallet pass in front of customers and it is already inside your till. If you are comfortable in a web dashboard, want the lowest monthly number and do not mind doing every part of the work yourself, Loopy Loyalty is the established self-serve choice. If you want the card designed, the counter set up, your staff trained, your monthly message written and your numbers read back to you — and you want a Canadian company, Canadian dollars and your customers' data kept in Canada — that is what Keporia is for, and it costs more per month because a person is doing that work.
Prices, side by side (as listed on each vendor's site, 22 September 2026)
| Square Loyalty | Loopy Loyalty | Keporia | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Loyalty add-on for Square's own point of sale | Self-serve wallet stamp-card platform | Done-for-you wallet loyalty service on its own platform |
| Setup | None listed | None listed (15-day free trial) | $199 CAD once — card design, geofence, counter set-up, staff training |
| Monthly, one location | $60 CAD (0–500 loyalty visits) · $100 (501–1,500) · $140 (1,501+), per location | $25 Starter (1 location, 1 card design) · $69 Growth (3 locations) · $95 Ultimate (10 locations); 20% off paid annually | $20 CAD per location |
| Currency | CAD on the Canadian page | Not stated on the pricing page; Loopy Loyalty is not a Canadian company, so budget in US dollars until they confirm | CAD, HST shown separately |
| Minimum term | Monthly | Monthly or annual | Three months, then month to month |
| Apple Wallet · Google Wallet | Apple Wallet pass is offered; Google Wallet is not mentioned on the Canadian page | Both | Both |
| Who designs the card, writes the offers, reads the report | You | You | Keporia, every month, as part of the fee |
| Where customer data is held | Square's infrastructure | Not stated on the pricing page | Toronto, Canada; first name only is collected from customers |
| Requires a particular till | Yes — Square | No | No — staff stamp from any phone; a tap chip on the counter is optional |
Sources: Square Loyalty, Canada · Loopy Loyalty pricing · Keporia pricing. Vendors change prices; the date above is when we last read them.
What the monthly number actually buys
The three monthly figures are not the same product at three prices. Square's and Loopy's fees buy software: a dashboard where you design the card, set the reward, write the push messages and pull the reports. If nobody in the business does those things, the card is installed and then forgotten, which is the most common way a loyalty program dies. Keporia's fee buys the software and the person: the card is designed for you, the counter is set up, staff are trained in ten minutes, one message goes to every cardholder each month, and a report arrives that tells you new members, repeat rate, rewards given and who has not been back in thirty days. If you would do those four hours a month yourself anyway, Square or Loopy is the better deal. If you would not, the cheaper option is the one you will end up paying for and not using.
Where each one is the wrong choice
Square Loyalty is the wrong choice if you do not run Square, or if a meaningful share of your customers are on Android and you want the same lock-screen behaviour for them — the Canadian page speaks only of Apple Wallet. It is also priced by loyalty visits, so a program that works well gets more expensive.
Loopy Loyalty is the wrong choice if you want someone to answer the phone in your time zone, want invoices in Canadian dollars, or need to say where your customers' data lives when a customer or a franchisor asks. It is a capable tool, built for owners who want to run the tool.
Keporia is the wrong choice if even $20 a month is more than the program can plausibly return. At a $4.75 average ticket and roughly 23% contribution after product costs, that fee needs about $90 a month in extra sales to break even — four or five extra visits a week across the whole customer base. Most independents clear that easily; a very quiet one may not, and we would rather say so than sign you for three months.
What is the same across all three
The customer experience at the counter is close to identical: scan a code, add the card to the wallet, show it to be stamped. None of the three needs the customer to download an app, and none needs special hardware at the till. All three can put a message on the customer's lock screen. The differences are behind the counter — who does the work, what it costs, and where the data goes.
Common questions
Is Loopy Loyalty available in Canada?
Yes, it is an online platform used from anywhere. Its pricing page lists $25, $69 and $95 a month without naming a currency; Loopy Loyalty is not a Canadian company, so treat the prices as US dollars until they confirm otherwise, and check where customer data is stored before you sign up.
How much does Square Loyalty cost in Canada?
Square's Canadian page lists $60 per month per location for up to 500 loyalty visits, $100 for 501 to 1,500, and $140 for 1,501 or more, with a 30-day free trial. It is an add-on to Square's point of sale.
How much does Keporia cost?
$199 CAD one-time setup, then $20 CAD a month per location, plus HST. Three-month minimum, then month to month. The fee includes the card design, counter set-up, staff training, a monthly message to every cardholder and a monthly report.
Which is best for a small café in Canada?
If you run Square and have time to run the program, Square Loyalty. If you want the lowest monthly cost and are happy in a dashboard, Loopy Loyalty. If you want it built and run for you by a Canadian company with data kept in Canada, Keporia. The honest deciding question is whether anyone in the business will do the monthly work themselves.
Do any of these need customers to download an app?
No. All three put the card in Apple Wallet (and, for Loopy Loyalty and Keporia, Google Wallet), which are already on the phone.
Written by
Md Abid Hasan, founder of Keporia, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador. A former operations manager with years of experience in food service, customer service and retail. Keporia sells one of the three options on this page, and the page says so wherever it matters.